Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Adelaide tutors in Canberra, Australia

Adelaide G.

Private tutor in Canberra, Australia

Education

Hello, my name is Adelaide and I’m an undergraduate Arts/Law student at the Australian National University (ANU) and experienced tutor in BSSS, HSC and IB curricula. In 2017, I graduated from a top IB school, MLC School Sydney, with an IB diploma score of 40/45 (ATAR of 98.3). I achieved high band 7s in English Literature HL and French B SL (continuers). I have received First Prize in both Design Technology HL and Business Management HL. My other subjects were Music SL and Maths Studies SL. I was also School Prefect and an active member of extra-curricular activities, including both music and sport. I am able to tutor IB Diploma students in English, French, Design Technology and Business Management, as well as assist with compulsory components, including ToK, EE and CAS. I am available to assist students, including non-IB students, with analysis skills, reading, essay writing, time management, and exam technique. Lessons are tailored to individual students, so the focus may be on developing skills through specific or general feedback on their own work, developing exam technique by working through past papers, understanding specific areas of the syllabus by learning at the student's own pace, or increasing confidence and skills to complete assessments.

Experience

As a recent graduate, I still have all my notes, past papers and textbooks, and I am up-to-date with the course curricula. I am highly familiar with what is expected of students, including grading schemes, essay guidelines and internal assessment requirements. I graduated from a top performing IB school in Australia, so I have received high quality teaching that I pass on to my own students. From my own experience, I know too well the numerous sources of stress in high school. I know what it's like to feel inadequate or incapable of completing an assignment or examination, giving up on 'weak' subjects as the workload becomes overwhelming. However, I found that through tutoring and teacher support I was able to overcome this and ultimately excel in my schooling. If I can do it, any student can. I strongly believe any student can achieve good results with hard work and proper guidance, irrespective of their ability.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I plan to pursue a career practising law in the area of environment and sustainability. However, I have a number of hobbies outside studying my double degree in Arts/Law to achieve this goal. I am a musician, having played the cello for more than a decade. I also play sports, enjoying social tennis in my spare time. Please note: I charge $40/hour, subject to the location, time and length of the lesson.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!